Due to an avalanche above Villars which derailed a train and logistical problems the organisers of the Audi Ski Cross Tour feel compelled to cancel the upcoming FIS and open races in Villars.

An avalanche struck above the village of Villars-sur-Ollon on Wednesday afternoon and derailed a train, as many media outlets reported. The avalanche causes several weeks of disruption to services on the affected portion of the Villars-Bretaye railway.

This avalanche, poor weather conditions and the logistical problems associated with the accident make the ski cross races impossible. The organisers of the Audi Ski Cross Tour and local officials have therefore decided to cancel the scheduled FIS and open races that had been planned to take place in Villars.

It is not yet clear whether the races will take place at a later date, and if so, when. The Audi Ski Cross Tour will begin its scheduled break from this coming weekend until early March. The tour will pick up again with the Swiss Championships on 5 and 6 March in Hoch-Ybrig, with one kids’ race, one juniors’ race and two open races on the cards.

L’avalanche qui s’est déclenchée sur les hauts de Villars et a fait dérailler un train, les conditions météorologiques défavorables et des problèmes logistiques ont contraint les organisateurs de l’Audi Skicross Tour à annuler les épreuves FIS et Open prévues prochainement à Villars.

Comme annoncé dans plusieurs médias, une avalanche s’est déclenchée mercredi après-midi sur les hauts de Villars-sur-Ollon, provoquant le déraillement d’un train. La ligne Villars-Bretaye devrait être interrompue pendant deux à trois semaines.

Cet incident, les conditions météorologiques défavorables ainsi que les problèmes logistiques liés à l’accident rendent les compétitions de skicross impossibles. Par conséquent, les organisateurs de l’Audi Skicross Tour et les responsables locaux se voient contraints d’annuler les courses FIS et Open prévues à Villars.

Il n’a pas encore été décidé si et à quel moment les épreuves seront reprogrammées. Selon le calendrier, l’Audi Skicross Tour sera en pause après le week-end prochain et jusqu’à début mars. Les 5 et 6 mars, Hoch-Ybrig accueillera les championnats suisses, des épreuves FIS, Kids et Junior ainsi que deux courses Open.